APPOINTMENT OF NON-VOTING PARISH COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES

Officer Contact: David Ruddock, District Solicitor and Monitoring Officer

DDI: 01494 421252

E-mail: david ruddock@wycombe.gov.uk

Wards affected: all

PROPOSED DECISION

The Committee is asked to agree to the co-option of Mrs Vicki Smith, Mr Dallas Banfield and Mr John Sherlock as Parish Council members onto the Committee.

Corporate Implications

Part 1 of the Localism Act 2011 has made major changes to the system of regulation of standards of conduct for members, including the abolition of the statutory Standards Committee which included three Parish Council members. However under the new arrangements, Parish Council representatives may still be involved as non-voting members of the Committee.

Background and Issues

Under the new standards arrangements introduced by the Localism Act, the District Council continues to have responsibility for dealing with standards complaints against Parish Councillors, but with the abolition of the statutory Standards Committee under the old regime, the Parish Council representatives have ceased to hold office.

On 31 July 2012, the Council agreed that the Parish Councils be invited to nominate a maximum of three Parish Councillors to be co-opted as non-voting members of the Committee under the new Standards arrangements. This report recommends that the three Parish councillors named above, whose names have been put forward by the Wycombe District Association of Local Councils (WDALC), and all of whom have served as Parish Council members on the former Standards Committee, be co-opted onto this Committee.

Background Papers

Part 1 of the Localism Act 2011 and associated Government guidance; agendas and minutes of the Standards Committee meetings of 24 January 2012, 27 March 2012, and 27 June 2012; the agenda and minutes of the Council meeting of 31 July 2012.